Salted: A Manifesto

Big excitement here in Portland, as Mark Bitterman’s book, “Salted: A Manifesto on the World’s Most Essential Mineral, With Recipes,” has just been released by Ten Speed Press. Ten Speed is a great non-fiction press that’s part of the broad umbrella that is Crown (my publisher, too).

Bitterman is also one of the principals behind The Meadowa great shop in the Mississippi District, a shop that sells beautiful wildflowers, salts, and a range of chocolates (among other things). After the babies were born, I dashed from Legacy Emmanuel to the Mississippi District to get Peyton two things: 1) A pinto bean bowl from Por Que No, and 2) Wildflowers from The Meadow. We dried some of them, and hope to give them to Phineas and Beatrix, someday.

Anyhow: A beautifully-designed book. My experience with great salt has changed my life — although, I must stress that it needs to be eaten in moderation, like every delicious thing. I’m not sure why I feel that I must stress, that, come to think of it, but I must. Delicious!

But check out this book; it will not disappoint.

Leave a Reply

